Cornwall ring changes for trip to Herts

Cornwall go into Saturday’s game against Hertfordshire at Bishop’s Stortford (kick-off 3 pm) with a side showing seven positional changes and just one new face in the match day twenty-two.

Cornwall’s coaches and selectors have had much to ponder over the last few days following, Cornwall’s dramatic late win against Gloucestershire at Redruth.

Cornwall coach Ian Morgan

Camborne’s Richie Kevern, who had a good game for Cornwall in the Tamar Cup, comes onto the bench, as Taunton’s Lewis Webb is unavailable.

Robin Wedlake is the only player from the Gloucestershire win to keep his place in the back three, Matt Shepherd moves to full-back, with Jake Murphy moving to centre in place of Sam Parsons who drops to the bench. Lewis Vinnicombe starts in place of John Dawe on the other wing.

At half-back, Billy Searle has recovered from illness and regains his place from Webb, whilst Greg Goodfellow starts at scrum-half, following his impressive introduction from the bench against Gloucestershire.

Photo: Billy Searle set to return this Saturday

In the front row, Craig Williams remains at tight-head, whilst Rupert Freestone switches from hooker to loose-head in place of Tom Cowan-Dickie who drops to the bench. Richard Brown starts at hooker.

Photo: Sam Matavesi had a big game against Gloucestershire

Hertfordshire were pushed all the way in their opening game at home to Surrey, just beating their opponents 31-28. They had ten players from Bishop’s Stortford in their ranks, although they will be without their players from Old Albanian, who are involved in the National League 2 play-off for promotion with Sedgley Park.

Cornwall’s task against Hertfordshire will nevertheless be a tough one, with the large Bishop’s Stortford contingent keen to win on home turf.

Cornwall: (Plymouth Albion unless stated): M Shepherd, L Vinnicombe (Redruth) J Murphy, N Webber (Redruth), R Wedlake, B Searle, G Goodfellow (Chinnor); R Freestone, R Brown (Redruth), C Williams (Redruth), B Hilton (Cornish All Blacks), T Whittle (Camborne), K Marriott (Redruth, capt), S Matavesi, H Stupple.

Replacements: T Cowan-Dickie (Redruth), BJ Chapman (Taunton), D Cook (Camborne), C Fuca (Redruth), R Kevern (Camborne), J Dawe, S Parsons (Redruth)

Travelling reserves: L Chapman (Cornish All Blacks), D Mankee (Redruth), D Tout (Bude)

Hertfordshire XV

  1. Ralph Adams-Hale (Ampthill)
  2. Brett McNamee (Hertford)
  3. Sean Edwards (Bishops Stortford)
  4. Rob Conquest (Darlington Mowden Park)
  5. Mat Tomlinson (Bishops Stortford)
  6. Steve Ball (Bishops Stortford) (C)
  7. Anthony Maka (Letchworth)
  8. Dave Archer (Hertford)

  9. Tom Banks (Bishops Stortford)

  10. Josh Sharp (Loughborough Students)
  11. George Elliott (Ampthill)
  12. Johnny Neville (Bishops Stortford)
  13. Sam Winter (Bishops Stortford)
  14. Jimmy Rea (Bishops Stortford)
  15. Pierfrancesco Dotta (Bishops Stortford)

  16. Will Roberts (Bishops Stortford)

  17. Andy Berry (Chinnor)
  18. Matthew Steele (Barnes)
  19. Rory Young (Bishops Stortford)
  20. Tom Sargent (Hertford)
  21. Dan Watt (L’boro)
  22. Michael Gallagher (Bishops Stortford)
Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts