TASC Player of the Year Awards/Presentations

Tony Whittle of Cornwall (Camborne) – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo – 30/04/19, Cornwall, Training, Bill Beaumont Cup, County Championship, CRFU, Sport, Rugby Union, Redruth, Recreation Ground, England


Trelawny’s Army members have voted Cornwall Tony Whittle as their 2019 Cornwall Player of the Year.

Whittle has been a standout player for Cornwall during coach Graham Dawe’s tenure as county coach. Comfortable in either the back row or at lock Whittle’s work rate is second to none, this was evident throughout the 2019 Bill Beaumont Cup campaign which saw Cornwall win a dramatic final against Cheshire at Twickenham in June.

Tony Whittle of Cornwall (Camborne) is tackled by Tom Williams of Kent (Blackheath) and Danny Herriott of Kent (Blackheath). – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo – 04/05/19, Cornwall, Kent, Bill Beaumont Cup, County Championship, CRFU, Sport, Rugby Union, Medway RFC, Priestsfield, Rochester, England

Whittle, has been playing for the Camborne club in recent seasons but during the summer he has returned to his former club Falmouth, will be presented with the Bill Osborne Memorial Shield at the club’s A.G.M. at St. Austell Brewery on Wednesday 25th September.

The award for the Cornwall Under 20 Player of the Year went to Redruth’s Jack Hodge, the young prop has made a name for himself with the National League 2 side last season and led Cornwall Under 20s when skipper Torin Clarke was unavailable.

Jack Hodge (Redruth) Captain of Cornwall U20s is tackled by Marcus Prout (Ivybridge) of Devon U20s and Dan Armstrong (Exmouth) of Devon U20s. – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo – 03/02/19, Cornwall U20s, Devon U20s, Jason Leonard U20s County Championship, CRFU, Sport, Rugby Union, St Austell, Tregorrick Park, Cornwall, England

A fine scrummager and good ball-carrier Hodge looks set for a bright future in the game. Hodge will receive the Tony Mead Memorial Shield the same evening.

A new award this year is the Jess Humber Shield for the Cornwall Woman Player of the Year. We are delighted that Jess will be with us to make the inaugural presentation to the winner Lauren Chenoweth of Penryn Ladies RFC.

Lauren Chenoweth receives the Jess Humber Shield from TASC’s Barbara Hocking

Lauren, a strong running centre,  put in very powerful performances in Cornwall’s Gill Burns Cup games against both Dorset & Wilts and Somerset in the spring.

The club will also be biding a fond farewell to our President John Treglown. John has been in post for the last 19 years and has helped foster our links with St. Austell Brewery. We are delighted that Sean Jarvis, also from the Brewery has kindly agreed to become our new President.

John Rowe presents retiring TASC President John Treglown with an engraved tankard
Retiring Vice- Chair Dave Broadhurst is thanked by Chairman Phil Trevarton

TASC were also delighted that Dave Saunter, the new Chairman of the Cornwall RFU was in attendance along with the Bill Beaumont Cup which was given pride of place on the top table.   

CRFU Chairman Dave Saunter receives a cheque from Viv Broadhurst for the 2020 Colts Cup Finals

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts