It must be A.G.M. time and our Cornwall Player of the Year Presentations.

Player’s Shields awaiting presentation

Trelawny’s Army Supporters Club held their A.G.M. yesterday at the St. Austell Brewery Visitor Centre.

The Army were delighted to have as guests for the evening officials from the Cornwall R.F.U. including President Ken Plummer, Chairman Denis Preece and Cornwall Team Secretary Ewart White.

There was also a very special welcome for the newly appointed Cornwall coaches; Graham Dawe and Ian Morgan.

Club Chairman Phil Trevarton reported on a very successful year for the club, the highlight of which was Cornwall getting to Twickenham.

The highlight of the evening were the player awards; with Redruth prop forward Darren Jacques receiving the “Bill Osborne” Memorial Shield as Cornwall Player of the Year as voted for by the club members. He said. “This award tops off a great year for me especially with the year Cornwall have had, the only thing that’s missing is not having won at Twickenham and that really is going to spur the boys on again this year as we strive to go one better.”


Photo – Darren Jacques receives his award from Cornwall Team Secretary Ewart White

The “Tony Mead” Memorial Shield went to Cornwall U.20’s skipper from last season flanker Neil Broadbank, who will still be eligible to play at this level again this season. He said. “It’s a great honour to be voted for this award, there are some fine former winners of this shield who have gone on to do well in the game and I am sure this will inspire me to progress further in my rugby career.”


Photo – Neil Broadbank with the “Tony Mead” U.20 Shield

There were further presentations made to Alan Mitchell, who stood down as Hon. Sec of the Cornwall R.F.U. last June and who is a past Chairman of the Army, and to long-serving Membership Secretary Thelma Sweet who has also stood down.

There was also the presentation to St. Austell Brewery of two match balls, which hopefully in time will be displayed in their visitor centre, one from this season’s match against Hertfordshire and the second a 1991 signed ball from the county final against Yorkshire at Twickenham, which fittingly Graham Dawe was on hand to make the presentation along with CRFU President Ken Plummer to St. Austell Brewery’s John Treglown, who also happens to be TASC’s President and a former Cornwall player in his own right.


Photo – former England Internationals Graham Dawe (right) and Ken Plummer (centre) present a signed match ball from Cornwall’s epic 1991 County Final win to St. Austell Brewery’s John Treglown

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts