Jake & Torin scoop TASC Player of the Year awards


Trelawny’s Army members have voted Cornwall captain Jake Murphy as their 2018 Cornwall Player of the Year.

Centre Murphy played in all of Cornwall’s senior fixtures last season captaining the side in what proved to be a turbulent Bill Beaumont Cup campaign.


Jake Murphy Captain of Cornwall (Barnstaple) presented the Tamar Cup by Devon RFU President Treve Mitchell and Cornwall RFU Chairman Denis Preece during the Tamar Cup match between Cornwall and Devon at the Tregorrick Park on April 16th 2018, St Austell Cornwall- Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo –

Murphy who is still playing his club rugby at Barnstaple this season, having previously played for many seasons at Launceston, will be presented with the Bill Osborne Memorial Shield at the club’s A.G.M. at St. Austell Brewery on Wednesday 26th September.

The award for the Cornwall Under 20 Player of the Year went to Launceston’s No.8 Torin Clarke who led the Cornwall Under 20s to the Jason Leonard Cup final at Twickenham last season were they lost the final to Yorkshire.


Trelawny’s Army Hon Sec Ian Gordon presents Torin Clark Captain of Cornwall U20s (Launceston) with a traveling expenses contribution for the 13 players attending the South West Trials during the Jason Leonard Cup U20s County Championship Semi Final match between Cornwall U20s v Cheshire U20s at the Recreation Ground on April1st 2018, Camborne Cornwall- Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo –

Clarke was also unlucky to suffer an injury during the trials for an England Counties Under 20 berth for the summer’s tour in June.

Clarke, who came through the youth system at St. Austell RFC, will be presented with the Tony Mead Memorial Shield the same evening.

Congratulations to both our winners.

The meeting is open to all members and commences at 7:45 pm. Pasties will be available.

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts