Cornwall ring changes for Herts trip

Photo: Ben Hilton returns to Cornwall’s boiler house

By Bill Hooper

Due to unavailability and other circumstances, Cornwall’s selectors have picked a largely experimental side to face Hertfordshire at Bishop’s Stortford on Saturday 3 pm.

There are nine changes in the starting XV from the side that played against Devon at Camborne last week and just four players in the squad that faced Hertfordshire at Camborne last season. The big surprise is the omission of Matt Shepherd who would have been available this week, but sadly is another unavailable player.

In the backs, Will Morton (Saltash) comes in for the unavailable Tom Notman, whilst Richie Kevern comes off the bench into centre in place of the injured Duncan Tout.

Dave Mankee forms a club partnership at half back with Taron Peacock as he did last week when coming on for the injured Fraser Honey.

The forwards see a major shake-up, Jess Tompsett starts alongside Matt Ballard and Jon Drew, whilst in the second row there is a new partnership as former county captain Ben Hilton teams up with Truro’s Jack Heazelton in place of the Redruth duo of Edd Pascoe and Luke Hattam.

In the back row, a second Saltash player comes in Lewis Wells replacing BJ Chapman, whilst Launceston skipper Lloyd Duke comes in for Grant Randlesome at No.8.

Both Andrius Zacharovas and Tommy-Lee Southworth drop to the bench with a raft of new names coming in Zac Cinnamond, Angus Hodges, Adam Hughes, Sam Hitchens and Dan Pearce



15 Mitch Vague (Penryn)

14 Will Morton (Saltash)

13 Jake Murphy [Capt.] (Barnstaple)

12 Richard Kevern (Redruth)

11 Jon Dawe (Launceston)

10 David Mankee (Camborne)

  9 Taron Peacock (Camborne)

  1 Jess Tompsett (Redruth)

  2 Matt Ballard (Wadebridge Camels)

  3 Jon Drew (Camborne)

  4 Ben Hilton (Barnstaple)

  5 Jack Heazelton (Truro)

  6 Lewis Wells (Saltash)

  7 George Jones (Penryn)

  8 Lloyd Duke Launceston)



16 Tommy Lee Southworth (Camborne)

17 Andrius Zacharovas (Camborne)

18 Zac Cinnamond (Launceston)

19 Angus Hodges (Bude)

20 Sam Hitchens (Penryn)

21 Adam Hughes (Penryn)

22 Dan Pearce (Launceston)


Head Coach: Graham Dawe

Assistant Coaches: Marek Churcher & Rhodri McAtee

Hertfordshire have announced their side for the annual clash in the Bill Beaumont Cup against Cornwall, who they host this Saturday, 19th May at Bishop Stortford RFC. Kick off is 3pm.

Hertfordshire: Sean Taylor (Hertford); Elliott Byfield (Tring), James Rea (Bishop Stortford), Richard Streets (Hertford), Sam Barnes (Tring); Dan Watt (Old Albanian), Tom Banks (Bishop Stortford) – Captain, Louis Castiglione (Hertford), Steff Jones (Hertford), Karl Garside (Ampthill), Rob Conquest (Cambridge), Harry Green (Tring), Nick Radley (Tring), Nick Stevens (Old Albanian), Chris West (Old Albanian)

Replacements: Ollie Walliker (Old Albanian), Tom McCrone (Bishop’s Stortford), Dave Archer (Hertford), Jack Elston (Hertford), Ben Creasey (Hertford), Jack Scantlebury (Bishop’s Stortford), Luke Barber (Harpenden)

For those unable to get to Bishop’s Stortford the game will be streamed live by Dave Burrows, click on the link from 3 pm Saturday

Game will also be live on BBC Radio Cornwall with John Martin and David Jenkins.

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts