Clarke returns for Cornwall


 The Jason Leonard Cup.

Cornwall Rugby Football Union (CRFU) Under 20 County Championship campaign 2019 moves to the second pool game in the Jason Leonard Cup. Cornwall will play Hampshire at a new venue of Havant RFC on the 3G pitch with a 13:30 kick off time on Sunday February 24.

Cornwall welcome back last season’s skipper Torin Clarke, who missed the last game through injury.

Torin Clarke chomping to get back into action – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo –

Elsewhere in the pack Mawgan Osborne, who came on as a replacement against Devon, partners Dan Goldsmith in the second row.

Harry Lightfoot another replacement against Devon, starts in the back row in place of try scorer last time out, Harry Somers.

In the backs there is just the one change with Penryn Colt, Charlie Levick coming onto the wing in place of Alistair Harding who drops to the bench.

Charlie Levick in action for Penryn – photo- Mark Collett

Other changes to the bench see Luke Barnes and Cain Worley as front row cover, Eddy Hall as a forward replacement, whilst  James Tucker, part of last season’s team, comes into the squad as half-back cover.

Coach Rich Kevern said. “The guys got off to a winning start against Devon, but this will be a different test away from home and playing on an artificial surface. We have kept a pretty settled side with only a couple of changes due to availability of players and, tactically. Harry Lightfoot starts at 6 and our captain Torin is back fit and fills the number 8 shirt. Another starter from last year James Tucker comes onto the bench along with Cain Worley and Luke Barnes who are covering the front row and youngster Charlie Levick gets a start on the wing”

Cornwall Captain Torin Clarke said. “It is great to back in the shirt and honoured to be captaining the side again after the first game. We had a hard fought game against Devon that went down to the wire. I was immensely proud of the guys who stuck to the game plan right up to the final minute, which saw us come through with a victory.”

The final pool game will again be hosted by St Austell RFC on Sunday 17 March where the opponents will be Gloucestershire.

The Cornwall U20 team manager Colin Hatch said. “At the last home game 13 new ties were presented to guys on playing their first match for the Cornwall U20. In addition Reuben Edwards, Dan Goldsmith, Jake Penprase, Connor Gilbert and Harry Lightfoot were awarded the first ever CRFU U20 caps for making 7 Championship appearances. This is a fantastic achievement for the guys and shows their commitment to the U20 team over 2 and in Reuben’s case 3 seasons. ”

Jake Penprase (Bath Uni) of Cornwall U20s, Connor Gilbert (Redruth) of Cornwall U20s, Reuben Edwards (Launceston) of Cornwall U20s, Dan Goldsmith (Launceston) of Cornwall U20s and Aden Brassington (St Ives) of Cornwall U20s with their Cornwall U20s caps. – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo – 03/02/19, Cornwall U20s, Devon U20s, Jason Leonard U20s County Championship, CRFU, Sport, Rugby Union, St Austell, Tregorrick Park, Cornwall, England

Jake Penprase (Bath University) Connor Gilbert (Redruth) Reuben Edwards, Dan Goldsmith and Harry Lightfoot (All Launceston) with their caps. Photograph courtesy of Simon Bryant.

Cornwall Squad 

1 Jack Hodge (Vice Captain) Redruth 
2 Rory Mead Bude
3 Chae Jenkins Launceston
4 Dan Goldsmith Launceston
5 Mawgan Osborne P&N Colts
6 Harry Lightfoot Launceston
7 Aden Brassington St Ives
8 Torin Clarke (Captain) Launceston
9 Owen Davey Truro
10 Will Trewin Cardiff Met
11 Charlie Levick Penryn Colts
12 Connor Gilbert Redruth
13 Jake Penprase Bath Uni
14 Reuben Edwards Launceston
15 Aaron Simmonds Redruth
16 Luke Barnes Redruth
17 Cain Worley N/A
18 Eddy Hall Pirates Amateurs
19 Noah Stanier-Smith Camborne
20 Jamie Murray Redruth
21 Alistair Harding Falmouth
22 James Tucker Redruth
  Travelling reserves
23 Alex Bartlett Launceston
24 Olly Matthews Wadebridge Camels
25 Adam Long Camborne
26 Ben Plummer St Austell

Coaches – Josh Lord + Rich Kevern

Medical cover – Sam West + Lauren Albury

Kit – Paul Hurrell (Head) +Colin Hatch

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts