Tamar Cup team announced

Cornwall RFU are delighted that the Tamar Cup fixture against Devon returns to the calendar for the first time since 2019.

The CRFU are also very pleased that St. Austell RFC’s Tregorrick Park Ground has again been chosen to host the fixture, as they did in 2018.

This season’s match kicks off at 7:30 pm. Entry is £5, with Under 16s free.

The last game in the series in 2019, was held at Plymouth Albion’s Brickfields Ground when Cornwall defeated Devon by 28-13, thanks in part to a hat-trick of tries scored by Alex Ducker.

This season both Cornwall and Devon will use the fixture as preparation for their respective County Championship campaigns.

Both sides will be drawing players from level 5 down for this match, with St. Austell’s Matt Shepherd captaining Cornwall from full-back on the night.

This is an ideal opportunity for many in this Tamar Cup side to put their hands up for inclusion in the County Championship squad when that is announced next month.

Cornwall (St. Austell, unless stated): Shepherd (Capt), Kessell (Camborne), Parsons, Semmens (Pirate Ams), Levick (Penryn), Simmonds (Camborne), Boyce; Job, Davey, Prowse (Camborne), Vian, Edwards (Wadebridge Camels), Inch, Nicholls (Camborne), Duncan (Truro).

Replacements: Bentham (Devonport Services), Southworth (Camborne), Heazelton (Camborne), Taylor, Jolly (Camborne), Brownfield (Pirate Ams), Sidwell (Camborne), Tyrrell.

Trelawny’s Army look forward to a good turnout of supporters on Wednesday evening.

We will be sponsoring the match ball, as well as making the presentation to the Cornwall Player of the Match with the Paul Bawden Memorial Trophy.

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts