Cornwall & Devon name squads for Tamar Cup

Photo Iktisphoto; Jake Murphy will captain Cornwall for Tamar Cup defence


Cup squads announced

By Bill Hooper

Both Cornwall and Devon have announced their squads for Monday evening’s Tamar Cup clash at St. Austell RFC, kick-off 7:45 pm.

The Cornwall squad shows ten players who were part of the 2017 Tamar Cup win at Tiverton 33-17.

Cornwall will again be captained by Jake Murphy, who forms a centre partnership with Launceston’s Jon Dawe.

There is a pacy looking back three with Penryn’s Mitch Vague at full back with Barnstaple’s Kyle Speare and Saltash’s Will Morton on the wings.

Photo Iktisphoto; Penryn’s Mitch Vague

The half-back partnership is tried and tested Camborne / Redruth pairing of Dave Mankee and Richie Kevern.

Up front a powerful front row sees Camborne props Andrius Zacharovas and Jon Drew either side of Camel Matt Ballard.

The boiler house pairing of James Goldsworthy and Jack Heazelton will be a solid presence whilst in the back row Barrie-John Chapman, Ben Humber and Grant Randlesome will ask plenty of questions of Devon.

Amongst the replacements is former Cornish Pirate Rob Elloway who will make his county debut.

Cornwall: M Vague (Penryn), W Morton (Saltash), J Murphy (Barnstaple, capt), J Dawe (Launceston), K Speare (Barnstaple), R Kevern (Redruth), D Mankee (Camborne); A Zacharovas (Camborne), M Ballard (Wadebridge Camels), J Drew (Camborne), J Heazelton (Truro), J Goldsworthy (Camborne), BJ Chapman (Newton Abbot), B Humber (Wadebridge Camels), G Randlesome (Penryn).

Replacements: R Elloway (St. Ives), D Connor (Brixham), Z Cinnamond (Launceston), L Duke (Launceston), L Wells (Saltash), T Peacock (Camborne), F Honey (Bury St Edmunds), J Champion (Camborne), J Simmons (Redruth), D Pearce (Launceston), D Cook (Camborne).


FORWARDS: Tom White (Newton Abbot), Joel Armitage (Brixham), Chey Bryce (Tamar Saracens), Aiden Taylor (Plymstock Albion Oaks), Ash Crouch (Barnstaple), George Snell (Bideford), George Wilson (Ivybridge), Martin Browne (Okehampton), Josh Vickeridge (Newton Abbot), Dean Abrams (Okehampton), Ben King (Ivybridge), Wayne Sprangle (Tiverton).

BACKS: Cameron Setter (Plymouth Albion), Ben Watts (Ivybridge), Tom Putt (Brixham), Jacob Nash (Brixham), Kyle Browne (Newton Abbot), Lewis Paterson (Ivybridge), Rhys Palmer (Okehampton), Matt Crosscombe (Plymouth Albion), Charlie Briant (Ivybridge), Cam Fogden (Newton Abbot), Billy Pinkus (Ivybridge).




Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts