Cornwall & Cheshire name sides for semi-final clash

Jason Leonard Cup Under 20 County Championship semi-final

By Bill Hooper

Cornwall’s selectors have announced the side to face Cheshire in the Jason Leonard Cup semi-final at Camborne this Sunday, kick-off 1 pm.

There are a few changes to the starting line up that faced Kent in the last round.


Photo: Declan Matthews returns for Cornwall @Iktisphoto

In the front row Redruth’s Jack Hodge starts, whilst Dan Reed comes into the second row to partner Dan Goldsmith.

Ollie Andrews moves to No.8 with skipper Torin Clarke switching to blindside in place of Camborne’s Tian Clark.

In the backs Noah Nash starts at scrum-half with James Tucker remaining at fly-half.

Declan Matthews returns at inside centre in place of Jake Penprase who returns to the wing whilst Dan Hubble reverts to the bench.

On the bench Aden Brassington returns as does Luke Barnes and Tom Osborne.



Jack Hodge of Cornwall U20s (Redruth) powers his way over for a try during the Jason Leonard Cup U20s County Championship Quarter Final match between Cornwall U20s v Kent U20s  – Photo mandatory by-line: ©Simon Bryant/Iktis Photo –

Cheshire have also named their starting XV but have yet to finalise their bench. They are captained by winger Harry Blackwell (Macclesfield), one of six Cheshire players who have made it through to the North trials this season.

Cheshire finished runners-up to Yorkshire in their pool defeating Durham 29-0 before losing at home to Yorkshire 15-8.

They travelled to face North Midlands in the quarter-finals winning a tight game 17-12.

Cornwall Squad 

1 Rikki Bentham Launceston RC
2 Harry Lightfoot Launceston RC
3 Jack Hodge Redruth RFC
4 Dan Goldsmith Launceston RC
5 Dan Reed Wadebridge Camels RFC
6 Torin Clarke (Captain) Launceston RC
7 Will Gibson Cardiff Met
8 Ollie Andrews Falmouth RFC
9 Noah Nash Brixham RFC
10 James Tucker Redruth RFC
11 Jake Penprase Bath Uni
12 Declan Matthews Camborne RFC
13 Connor Gilbert Redruth RFC
14 Shae Cornish PZ & N Colts
15 Ethan Tyler Penryn RFC
16 Quinn Cross Wadebridge Camels RFC
17 Chea Jenkins Launceston RC
18 Luke Barnes Camborne RFC
19 Aden Brassington Redruth RFC
20 Dan Hubble Falmouth RFC
21 Callum Boyce St Austell RFC
22 Tom Osborne Swansea Uni
Travelling reserves
23 Brandon Rowley Launceston RC
24 Kyle Gratrix Penryn RFC
25 Seb Firth Falmouth RFC
26 Jake Carr St Austell RFC
27 Leion Cole Launceston RC


Coaches – Matt Shepherd, Josh Lord





CHESHIRE U20 Team Sheet

Number Name Club
1. J. Percival Morley
2. S. Ridgeway Macclesfield
3. M. Hand Lymm
4. T. Phillips Macclesfield
5. P. Weller Caldy
6. S. Nield Alt Kersal
7. L. Eldridge Chester
8. D. Frey Manchester Met
9. J. Smethurst Caldy
10. J. Morris Chester
11. H. Richardson Stoke
12. J. Marston Chester Uni
13. L. Titherington Birkenhead Park
14. H. Blackwell      capt Macclesfield
15. D. Morley Chester Uni


Substitutes to be selected from:

  1. W. Hirstwood Stockport
  2. J. Evans Wilmslow
  3. L. Cox Trafford MV
  4. H. Lewis Manchester
  5. M. Peakman Macclesfield
  6. R. Canhom Trafford MV
  7. W. Titherington Birkenhead Park
  8. H. Dokter Sandbach
  9. J. Mckercher Sale FC
  10. J. Sanders Caldy
  11. K. Vezanous Macclesfield


Head Coach   T.Banks   Asst coach N.Rushton   Physio  V.Ainsworth


Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts