Nielson Webber, Sam Hocking & Greg Goodfellow

England Counties bound Nielson Webber, Sam Hocking and the cany Scot Greg Goodfellow at training on Wednesday evening

Gavin Cattle chats to Lewis Vinnicombe

Cornish Pirates’ Gavin Cattle chatting to Cornwall’s Lewis Vinnicombe

Ashley Lawton

Camborne’s Ashley Lawton starts at No.8 for Cornwall – Photos Bill Hooper

Cornwall held their final training session at Redruth’s Recreation Ground on Wednesday evening in front of numerous members of the press and media.

Cornwall’s head coach Dave “Benji” Thomas announced his County Championship Final team to take on Lancashire at Twickenham on Sunday afternoon kick-off 3-15 pm.

With Launceston’s Barrie-John Chapman forced to miss the final having picked up an eight week playing ban for foul play in a league game against Worthing, Camborne’s Ashley Lawton, who has bided his time on the bench during Cornwall’s three pool games, comes into the starting XV.

Understandably, Lawton was delighted to have been given the nod by the selectors. “I am over the moon, delighted to be starting on Sunday and very much looking forward to it”, remarked the Cherry and White.

Recalls are also seen on the bench as Redruth duo Lewis Vinnicombe and Neal Turner are back in the match day 22, whilst fellow Red lock Luke Collins comes onto the bench for his first county call up of the season. Collins has found memories of Twickenham having scored a try at rugby HQ for England Counties against France Fédérale in 2009.

Paul Thirlby, Steve Perry, Lewis Vinnicombe Darren Jacques, Ben Hilton, Sam Hocking and Chris Fuca are survivors from Cornwall’s last appearance at Twickenham, in the 2008 County Shield Final lost to Northumberland 25-11.

CORNWALL: Jake Murphy, Richard Bright (both Cornish All Blacks), Steve Johns (Coventry), Nielson Webber (Cornish All Blacks), Tom Notman, Paul Thirlby, Greg Goodfellow; Darren Jacques, Richard Brown, Craig Williams, Damian Cook (all Redruth), Ben Hilton, Capt, (Cornish All Blacks), Chris Fuca (Redruth), Sam Hocking (un-attached), Ashley Lawton (Camborne).

Replacements: Neal Turner, Jon Drew, Luke Collins (all Redruth), Tom Rawlings (Cornish All Blacks), Matt Shepherd (St. Austell), Steve Perry (un-attached), Lewis Vinnicombe (Redruth)

LANCASHIRE: Sean Taylor (Preston Grasshoppers), Nick Royle (Vale of Lune), Chris Briers (Fylde), Jack Ward (Preston Grasshoppers), Ben Rath (Fylde), Chris Johnson (Fylde), Steve Collins (Sedgley Park); Dan Birchall (Fylde) Jon Matthews (Otley) Simon Griffiths (Fylde) Paul Arnold (Fylde) Louis McGowan (Sedgley Park) (Captain) Jon Nugent (Stade Dijon) Steve McGinnis (Fylde) Dominic Moon (Preston Grasshoppers)

Replacements – Pete Altham (Fylde) Gareth Gore (Preston Grasshoppers) Phil Mills (Preston Grasshoppers) Evan Stewart (Fylde) Philip Baines (Preston Grasshoppers) Tom Webb (Fylde) Andrew Riley (Sedgley Park)

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts