Devon regain Tamar Cup



By Bill Hooper

Cornwall travelled to Ivybridge for the annual Tamar Cup clash against Devon on the artificial pitch at Cross-in-Hand.

It was another chance for coaches and selectors to run the rule over potential players for this season’s Bill Beaumont Cup campaign kicking off in May. Disappointingly, the result posed more questions than answers!

Devon kicked off with the wind at their backs in atrocious conditions that lasted the whole match. Cornwall were put on the back foot as Devon manufactured a try in the corner after just 3 minutes with their fly-half kicking an excellent conversion from wide out.

Cornwall did have chances during the first half, however the good work was undone as both lineout and scrum malfunctioned under huge Devon pressure.

Devon doubled their advantage after 18 minutes when they scored from a pick and go near the Cornwall line, the conversion split the uprights.

Cornwall’s grip on the Tamar Cup was well and truly lessened with two further converted Devon tries before half-time making the score 28-0 to the hosts.

Cornwall did make a better fist of it second half, with the game played mostly in the Devon half, whilst the scrum went better the lineout continued to misfire.

Despite some good play from James Tucker, Max Bullen and Dan Tyrrell, Cornwall couldn’t breech the Devon defence until prop Rich Treleaven was driven over for a consolation try.

Cornwall continued to battle away with centre Josh Semmens looking to make ground but Devon’s defence held out to secure a first Tamar Cup win since 2010.

Skipper for the night St. Austell’s Matt Shepherd was naturally disappointed with the result. “Things didn’t go our way tonight. Conceding the fourth try right on half-time gave us a mountain to climb second half.

“Credit to the boys they put in a better performance second half and showed pride in the shirt.”

Cornwall (Launceston unless stated): Shepherd (St. Austell), Davies (Devonport S), Fogden, Semmens (Pirates Ams), Tyrrell (St. Austell), Hennessey (Truro), Boyce (St. Austell); Pearce-Cowley, L Powell (Truro), Lambourn (Pirates Ams), Goldsmith, Horne, Head (Truro), Taylor (St. Austell), Rowley.

Replacements: Treleaven (Wadebridge C), Bulut, Hawken, A Powell (Liskeard-Looe), Elderkin (Truro), Hancock (Bude), Bullen, Plummer (both St. Austell), Tucker.

Cornwall score: Try, Treleaven

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts