Cornwall Women name side for semi-final

By Bill Hooper

Nine players from the Launceston club are in the match day squad for Sunday’s Gill Burns Division 2 semi-final against Hampshire Women at Polson Bridge, kick-off 2 pm.

Last Saturday Cornwall Women had a warm up game against Ivybridge Ladies, which gave the coaches the chance to view their options.

Cornwall coach Jo Holden had this to say. “Last Saturday was really useful for us to review the squad. So many players put their hands up for selection which again gave us selectors a headache, but again shows the strength in depth we are now developing.  

There are a few changes from the side that defeated Oxfordshire Women 57-0 earlier this month.

In the front row Kim Upcott steps up from the bench and starts at tight-head prop.

The other change in the pack is Sam Whitfield from Truro who comes into the back row in place of Penryn’s Rosie Ninnis.

The half backs remain the same with Amy Warman and Georgia Hall retaining their shirts.

Shannon Foster comes in for her Plymstock clubmate Jo Roberts, who is unavailable as are both Lisa Allin and Lydia Hawkins. Rebecca Bennett gets a start on the wing following a good game against Ivybridge Ladies last Saturday.

On the bench, Josie Ninnis drops out of the starting XV, whilst Oz Brazier, Caitlin Hancock and Meg Tucker all come in.  

The Hampshire Women’s side has also been named and is shown below.

Cornwall Women: Amy Bunt (Ivybridge, Capt), Rebecca Bennett (Truro), Shannon Foster (Plymstock AO), Megan Okey (Ivybridge), Joey Sandercock (Launceston), Georgia Hall (Penryn), Amy Warman; Mel Ruby, Jenna Arnold, Kim Upcott, Megan Arnold (all Launceston), Sian Westgarth, Sam Whitfield (both Truro) Rhiannon Thomas (Launceston), Katherine Wherry (Ivybridge).

Replacements: Josie Ninnis (Penryn), Caitlin Milliken  (Camborne), Roberta Smith-Scotland (Plymstock AO), Oz Brazier (Truro), Caitlin Hancock (Launceston), Bryher Freight (Truro), Meg Tucker (Launceston).

Hampshire Women: Abi Pearson (Havant), Nina Hoadley (Ellingham & Ringwood), Jariya Sime (Havant), Samantha Wharton, Katie Wadeson (both Portsmouth), Sarah Butler (CC), Hannah Kemish (both Trojans); Keeta Rowlands (Portsmouth), Thea Kilby, Ashleigh Robertson (both Trojans), Tessa Down (Ellingham & Ringwood), Eloise Shrimpton, Natasha Bullock (CC) (both Havant), Emelia Green, Chardonnay Wilson (both Trojans).

Replacements: Ciera Forry (Portsmouth), Louise Weinfeld (Trojans), Natsha Davison (Portsmouth), Carol Tennant (Trojans), Emma Andrews (Southampton), Emmie-Lou Cooper (Portsmouth), Lauren Gillingham (Havant).

(CC) = co captain

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts