Cornwall Women announce squad for Gill Burns campaign

The selectors and coaches have announced their squad for this season’s Gill Burns Cup Division 2 campaign.

Last season Cornwall Women won the Division 3 title defeating Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire in a thrilling final at the Richmond Athletic Ground 36-17.

Twelve players from that side are in the squad for this season’s campaign.

Last season’s captain Verity Holden has retired from playing but is now part of the coaching squad. This season’s captain is yet to be named.

Cornwall RFU Chairman Dave Saunter in congratulating the selected players said. “Exciting times ahead for our Ladies XV, who have been promoted to the Gill Burns Div 2 Cup after winning the Division 3 at the first time of asking. 

“The coaches have been casting an eye over the potential squad on Friday nights at Bodmin RFC and now have selected the 30 who will carry the hopes of Cornish Ladies rugby. 

“The squad have 2 qualifying matches one at home at Launceston so it’s a short intense program with a potential final at the end of the journey.

“I wish Ronan O’Neil, Jo and new coach Verity best luck, knowing the way they work I know our ladies will be prepared to face the challenge”.

Whilst coach Jo Holden added. “Open training sessions were amazing this year, we had 30/40 women for each session, lots of new faces making selection super competitive. We are also fortunate to be able to add our Cornish Winning Captain Verity Holden to the coaching team this year. She has added a new dimension and whole lot more passion about putting Cornwall on the map. Ronan and I are more determined than ever to continue the good work from last year and keep the momentum going”. 

The Cornwall Women squad of 30 is as follows;

Amy Bunt (Ivybridge), Amy Warman (Launceston), Annie McKelvey (Penryn), Bobby Smith-Scotland (Plymstock), Bryher Freight (Truro), Caitlin Milliken (Camborne), Claire Thompson (Truro), Faith Rowe (Camborne), Georgia Hall (Penryn), Jenna Arnold (Launceston), Jo Roberts (Plymstock), Joey Sandercock (Launceston), Josie Ninnis (Penryn), Katherine Wherry (Ivybridge), Kim Upcott (Launceston), Laura Outten (Camborne), Lisa Allin (Bude), Lydia Hawkins (Falmouth), Makindi Carter (Helston), Megan Arnold (Launceston), Megan Okey (Ivybridge), Mel Ruby (Launceston), Nicola Rowland (Ivybridge), Oz Brazier (Truro), Rebecca Bennett (Truro), Rhiannon Thomas (Launceston), Rosie Ninnis (Penryn), Sam Whitefield (Truro), Shannon Foster (Plymstock), Sian Westgarth (Truro).

Cornwall Women’s games this season in the Gill Burns Cup are;

Sunday 7th May Cornwall Women v Oxfordshire Women @ Launceston RC 2 pm

Sunday 21st May Somerset Women v Cornwall @ Taunton RFC 3 pm

Semi-final fixtures will be advised at a later date.

Entry to the game at Launceston is £5 on gate, Under 16s free.

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts