Cornwall have picked a strong squad for their Tamar Cup defence against Devon next Wednesday evening at Polson Bridge kick-off 7-30 pm.
As expected there is a strong representation from both the Redruth and Launceston clubs.

However, Cambridge and former Penryn and Redruth player Jamal Ford-Robinson, who has just been selected for England Counties Under 20 squad and played this season for the full England Counties side against France and Ireland alongside skipper Ben Hilton, has impressed and comes in as one of the props.

Another out of county player to have caught the selector’s eye; prop Rupert Freestone (Clifton). Camborne’s hooker Sam Bartle who has had a stand out season for the Cherry and Whites is one of two players from his club to make the squad, the other the flying winger Alex Ducker.

Olympic Torch Relay 180512

Photo – Lewis Paterson and Jake Murphy will look to undo Devon on Wednesday night

Other players from the regional leagues to make the squad include former Red, Lewis Vinnicombe (Truro), Matt Shepherd (St. Austell), former Cornish All Black Lewis Paterson (Ivybridge) and Falmouth Eagles skipper Tony Whittle, all of whom played in the match against Redruth on Good Friday.

Cornwall-25 Lewis Vinnicombe scores v Lancs

Photo – Lewis Vinnicombe surges to the line against Lancashire

A surprise omission for many will be the non-inclusion of prop Darren Jacques (Truro), though I understand he picked up an ankle injury playing in the Testimonial Game last Friday.

The side will once again be captained by Ben Hilton (Cornish All Blacks).

Jamal Ford-Robinson – Cambridge RFC
Rupert Freestone – Clifton RFC
Jess Tompsett – Redruth RFC
Craig Williams – Redruth RFC
Sam Bartle – Camborne RFC
Jamie Salter – Cornish All Blacks
Damien Cook – Redruth RFC
Ben Hilton – Cornish All Blacks (Capt)
Bryn Jenkin – Cornish All Blacks
Tony Whittle – Falmouth RFC
Barry BJ Chapman – Cornish All Blacks
Chris Fuca – Redruth RFC
Tom Rawlings – Cornish All Blacks
Jamie Tripcony – Cornish All Blacks

Richard Friend – Cornish All Blacks
Greg Goodfellow – Redruth RFC
Matt Shepherd – St Austell RFC
Kieron Lewitt – Cornish All Blacks
Lewis Webb – Cornish All Blacks
Jake Murphy – Cornish All Blacks
Sam Parsons – Redruth RFC
Lewis Paterson – Ivybridge RFC
Nielson Webber – Cornish All Blacks
Alex Ducker – Camborne RFC
Rhodri McAtee – Redruth RFC
Tom Notman – Redruth RFC
Lewis Vinnicombe – Truro RFC

Posted in Bill's Blog

Older posts